Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a DayToll Free: (205) 222-4544
menu

Even if a charge of driving under the influence is someone’s first criminal offense, drivers in Auburn may still face severe penalties. Since driving under the influence is a criminal charge, the defendant is entitled to legal representation and has a right to choose their own advocate. If you have received your first accusation for driving under the influence, know that a knowledgeable Auburn first-offense DUI lawyer could act as an aggressive advocate for your defense. Read on to learn more about how skilled defense attorney could potentially make a difference for you.

Driving While Impaired

Driving while impaired because of drugs, alcohol, or some other impairing substance constitutes driving under the influence. Like in most states, driving with a blood-alcohol content of .08% or higher meets the threshold for drunk driving in Auburn.

The requisite blood alcohol content can vary, depending on the age and circumstances of the driver. When a driver is under the legal drinking age of 21, a blood-alcohol content level that exceeds .02% constitutes being under the influence of alcohol. If the defendant is a professional driver with a commercial driver’s license, they can be considered under the influence with a blood alcohol content of .04%. Reach out to a professional defense attorney to learn more.

Calculating Blood-Alcohol Content Levels

There are not a specific number of alcoholic beverages that will absolutely result in all drivers being under the influence. Blood alcohol content is impacted by a driver’s height and weight, so in general, smaller individuals are likely to have a higher blood-alcohol content than taller and heavier people after the same number of drinks. Driving under the influence of other impairing substances is not measured by the driver’s blood-alcohol content level, but can also lead to charges of driving under the influence nonetheless.

Impairing substances can be legal or illegal, including cocaine, marijuana, and many prescription drugs. Having a legal prescription for medication does not mean a driver can avoid being charged with DUI if the substance impairs their ability to drive. However, know that a reliable Auburn first-offense DUI lawyer can assist those who have received these charges with aggressive legal representation.

Penalties for a First DUI Conviction

Driving under the influence is a public safety issue, so it is a serious offense that most prosecutors treat as such. Even when a driver is charged as a first-time offender, the possible penalties can be harsh. A first-time offender convicted of driving under the influence in Auburn is subject to fines of anywhere from $500 to $2,000. Additionally, there is an automatic $100 fine that is placed into the Impaired Drivers Trust.

Individuals convicted of driving under the influence are also subject to incarceration for up to one year, mandatory attendance of a DUI class, and suspension of their license for 90 days. Moreover, a driver in Auburn earns six points on their driving record after a DUI conviction or guilty plea, which can impact their vehicle insurance premiums.

Reach Out to an Auburn First-Offense DUI Lawyer

A dedicated Auburn first-offense DUI lawyer may be able to provide the legal knowledge necessary to help you navigate the criminal justice process. They can discuss your goals, ensure that you understand the procedure, and help you make hard decisions if and when they are presented. If you have been accused of driving under the influence in Auburn, do not hesitate to speak with a qualified Auburn first-offense DUI lawyer for your initial consultation.