Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a DayToll Free: (205) 222-4544
menu

Driving without a license – either because the driver never had a license or lost their license – is a misdemeanor offense.

When a driver has a valid license, but does not have it with them when stopped, the police can still charge the driver with driving without a license. If a driver loses their license, driving without a license is punishable with fines ranging from $100 to $500, as well as a state-required $50 fine. Further, that person can face six months in prison. The court can also suspend the driver’s license for an additional six months.

Driving without a license only becomes more serious if the person is facing Auburn DUI without a license charge. Because of the seriousness of this crime, it is important to speak to a dedicated lawyer if you are facing these charges.

DUI Charges in Auburn

Driving while under the influence of an impairing substance, such as alcohol or drugs, is a criminal offense that has serious penalties. Even when the accused has no prior criminal history they can face fines, up to one year in a county jail, and a mandatory driver’s license suspension for 90 days.

Upon a second offense, the accused can face fines, either a minimum two-day period of incarceration or community service for 20 days, and incarceration for up to one year. The accused may also lose their driver’s license for one year if convicted.

After the second offense, the minimum incarceration period, fines, and length of time a license is revoked only increases.

Additionally, unlike the laws in some neighboring states, reckless driving is not a lesser charge that someone can plead to in lieu of driving under the influence. Auburn DUI without a license charges can have serious consequences.

Additional DUI Penalties for Driving Without a License

Although driving under the influence is a separate and distinct charge from driving without a license, the two charges can collide to become Auburn DUI without a license charges. If a driver has a suspended driver’s license at the time they receive a driving under the influence charge, it elevates the charge to aggravated driving under the influence.

Aggravated DUI is a felony offense, which means the incarceration period can be longer than one year. It is punishable by fines up to $4,000, imprisonment for at least two years, and suspension of a driver’s license for an additional year.

How an Auburn DUI Without a License Lawyer Can Help

A conviction for a DUI without a license decreases employment opportunities and makes it more difficult to secure housing. The penalties for driving under the influence alone are steep and when coupled with not having a license, the possible penalties only increase.

If you are charged with driving while under the influence without a driver’s license, contact a skilled Auburn DUI without a license lawyer. An attorney can review you case, assess the situation, an advise on the legal courses of action available to you. Call for a free consultation.