Butler County DUI Lawyer
A person could be charged with a DUI in Butler County when driving under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or controlled substances such as prescription drugs. DUI convictions could result in fines, a period of incarceration, suspension of your driver’s license, and more.
Attempting to fight DUI charges without a Butler County DUI lawyer’s assistance could be difficult, especially if it is not your first offense. A seasoned criminal attorney familiar with DUI laws and the legal system applicable to Georgiana and the rest of Butler County could advocate for you.
DUIs and Blood Alcohol Level
The laws dictating the blood alcohol level associated with driving under the influence differ based on age. A blood alcohol level that is 0.08 percent or higher constitutes a DUI for persons 21 years of age and older.
For persons younger than 21 years of age, a level of 0.02 percent is considered a DUI. A Butler County DUI attorney could answer specific legal questions related to drunk driving and blood alcohol level.
First-Offense DUI Penalties
The penalties for a first-offense DUI conviction in Butler County include a fine ranging between $600 and $2,100, and up to one year in jail. Other penalties for this offense include a 90-day driver’s license suspension and mandatory participation in a DUI or substance abuse program.
Drivers who do not have their license suspended could be required to have an approved ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle(s) for a minimum of six months. This device prevents drivers from starting their vehicle if they fail a breathalyzer test. A qualified attorney in Georgiana could answer questions about the legal requirements surrounding the use of ignition interlock devices.
Penalties for a Second-Offense of Intoxicated Driving
The penalties for a second-offense DUI conviction in Butler County include a fine ranging between $1,100 and $5,100, as well as up to one year in jail. Individuals convicted of a second DUI offense could also face:
- A one-year suspension of their driver’s license
- Mandatory community service for a minimum of 30 days
- Mandatory participation in a DUI or substance abuse program
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on their vehicle(s) for two year
A DUI lawyer in Butler County could review the potential penalties a person’s DUI allegations and work to construct a legal defense on their behalf.
Penalties for Subsequent Drunk Driving Offenses
Individuals who are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI offense in Butler County could face even harsher legal sanctions compared to those for first or second offenses. The penalties for subsequent DUI offenses may include any or all of the following sanctions:
- A jail term of between 60 days to one year
- A fine ranging between $2,100 and $10,100
- Revocation of the driver’s license for three years
- Requireed successful completion of an approved DUI or substance abuse program
- Installation and use of an approved ignition interlock device on all vehicles
Get in Touch with a Butler County DUI Attorney Today
A Butler County DUI lawyer could help you navigate the legal system while facing any first or subsequent drunk driving charges. Once hired, your attorney could examine the case being presented against you, collect evidence to strengthen your defense, and fight for you in court. Call today to schedule a consultation.