Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a Day(205) 222-4544
menu

Under Alabama state law, prostitution is defined as exchanging sexual acts or contact for either money or other means of value. To catch people suspected of participating in this criminal offense, police officers may conduct what is referred to as a string operation by either searching online or patrolling parts of an area where prostitution is known to occur.

While there may have been reasons for the police to suspect an individual of partaking in prostituting, it might not hold up in court. Either way, being charged with prostitution could lead to enormous consequences and may have a disastrous impact on an individual’s personal life, as well as their career opportunities and relationships with friends and loved ones.

If you have were accused of prostitution, you may need the help of a seasoned Crenshaw County prostitution lawyer. Let a tenacious defense attorney fight for you in court and help you pursue a positive outcome to your case.

Punishments for a Prostitution Conviction

In Alabama, prostitution is considered a Class A misdemeanor. If convicted, a defendant may face a year in prison and a fine of $6,000. This conviction is typically due to an individual acting on their own to exchange sex for either money or something of monetary value.

However, if an individual is convicted of owning, controlling, or managing a house for prostitution, running a business with two or more prostitutes, or pimping or pandering a prostitute under the age of 18, they may face a Class C felony charge instead. This may lead to up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.

Coercing a prostitute under the age of 16 is considered a Class B felony, which is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $30,000. Aggravated pimping and pandering is also considered a sex offense.

All these charges may require an individual who is convicted of the crimes to be registered as a sex offender for the rest of their life, in addition to severe personal and professional consequences. Speaking to a Crenshaw County prostitution attorney may be critically important for someone looking to protect their best interests in the wake of such a charge.

Possible Defenses to a Prostitution Charge

The social stigma alone of being charged with prostitution can be debilitating, and it may seem like there are no reasonable defenses to the charge. While defendants could feel like they lost before the trial even began, a prostitution lawyer in Crenshaw County may be able to review a person’s case and build a strong defense for their trial.

Such a defense may be that the defendant was unaware that the other individuals involved with either buying or selling sexual acts. An additional defense could be that there was no exchange for sex and that the sex was merely just a consensual interaction. Experienced legal counsel may be able to work with a defendant and discuss the legal options and rights available in their specific cases.

Get in Touch with a Crenshaw County Prostitution Attorney Today

The best time to contact a Crenshaw County prostitution lawyer is immediately after the charge has been issued. While attempting to fight such a charge alone may complex and daunting, a qualified attorney could work with you and advise on the best course of action give your case.

The sooner you contact a legal representative, the soon they could begin working on your case. Call today to set up a consultation.