Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a Day(205) 222-4544

The legislature in Alabama fully supports each individual’s right to own a handgun to protect themselves or the state until that right is revoked or doing so violates another law. While Alabama has fairly liberal gun laws, that does not permit everyone to own a gun or allow those that can legally own a gun from having any gun in their possession at all times. Violation of certain gun laws can rise to felony offenses, which can result in expensive fines and extensive periods of incarceration. If you have been charged with a gun crime, contact a skilled Hoover criminal attorney immediately. Read on to learn more about how a knowledgeable Hoover gun lawyer can offer you their assistance today.

Gun Ownership

There are few requisites for gun ownership in Alabama. While state residents are required to be over the age of 21 to purchase handguns, those who are at least 18 can legally purchase shotguns and rifles without a permit. Additionally, residents cannot have a criminal record for violent offenses, documented history of drug or alcohol abuse, or a legal declaration of mental instability to legally possess a gun in the state. To better understand these laws, an individual should not hesitate before consulting with a qualified Hoover gun lawyer.

Right to Carry Laws

While gun ownership is not particularly restrictive in Alabama, there are limitations on who may own guns and what type of guns may be owned by state residents. While handgun owners have the right to roam with a weapon on their own property, in their home, or in their stationary place of business, it is necessary to apply and receive a permit to carry a handgun in a vehicle and on or near the owner’s body in other locations.

Obtaining a handgun permit only requires applying at the local sheriff’s office and paying the permit fee so long as the applicant is at least 21 years old and does not group into the category of those ineligible for gun ownership. Gun carry violations are typically punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine that does not exceed $500. The penalties are more extensive when the individual has or has tried to commit a violent act, or provided inaccurate information to obtain the weapon. Such nuances can be best explained by a qualified defense attorney.

Limitations of Ownership

Under federal law, individuals that have been convicted of a felony are prohibited from gun ownership. This remains true after the sentence has been served or if it was suspended, as long as the civil rights of the convicted party have not been restored. Since Alabama’s laws are less restrictive than federal gun laws, those that have been convicted are not prohibited from ownership of rifles and shotguns.

Further, Alabama does not restrict everyone that has been charged with a felony from handgun ownership, but Alabama’s allowances do not shield individuals from federal charges if they are arrested by federal authorities and have a shotgun or rifle in their possession. Under state law, illegal gun ownership is subject to penalties including up to five years imprisonment, fines, and seizure of the gun(s) in question. Reach out to a weathered Hoover gun lawyer to learn more.

Contact a Professional Hoover Gun Lawyer

If you were charged with a gun violation, do not delay in contacting a knowledgeable Hoover gun lawyer to protect your rights and freedom. A qualified Hoover gun lawyer can gather evidence, interview key witnesses, and guide you through the investigation process so you can feel prepared for your appearance in court. Reach out to a seasoned Hoover gun lawyer today to gain an aggressive advocate for your defense.