Jefferson County First-Offense DUI Lawyer
Driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other controlled substances may result in criminal charges. If you find yourself facing a first DUI offense, you may be frightened or unsure of what to expect during the legal process. Fortunately, while facing a DUI accusation is stressful, you do not have to fight these allegations alone. A Jefferson County first-offense DUI lawyer could explain the legal process and answer any questions you may have.
Some individuals in Jefferson County choose to face DUI charges on their own. However, many people do not have the legal knowledge or resources to fight for a favorable outcome without assistance. Instead, allow an experienced DUI attorney to fight for you and protect your rights.
Jefferson County DUI Laws
Jefferson County’s DUI laws are covered in Chapters 5 and 5A of Title 32 of the Code of Alabama. Many people think driving under the influence is limited to alcohol – however, the law also prohibits driving under the influence of any controlled substance, including narcotic drugs and certain prescription medications. A Jefferson County first-offense DUI lawyer could explain what specific substances may lead to charges.
Operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher is generally considered driving under the influence by the law. In addition, anyone under the age of 21 found driving with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher may also be charged with a DUI.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
There are many possible penalties for a first-offense DUI conviction in Jefferson County. These penalties could include a jail sentence of up to one year, monetary fines between $600 and $2,100, or both. In addition, the court may choose to suspend a convicted person’s license for up to 90 days.
In some cases, a DUI attorney may help people avoid a license suspension. The law allows for a reduced or waived suspension for if convicted individuals have an ignition interlock device installed on their car. This device acts as breathalyzer that prevents drivers from starting their vehicles if they are intoxicated when they attempt to drive.
The ignition interlock device must be approved by the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency and remain installed on a convicted person’s vehicle for at least 90 days. In addition to the ignition interlock device, drivers may be asked to obtain an ignition interlock restricted driver’s license. Those considering an interlock device may wish to consult a first-offense DUI lawyer in Jefferson County to better understand the requirements surrounding installation and use of the device.
Advice from A Jefferson County First-Offense DUI Attorney
An attorney experienced in defending DUI accusations could answer questions pertaining to the specific laws and charges, as well as explaining what to expect during the legal process.
Trying to determine the best way to defend yourself against a DUI charge may be overwhelming, especially if you have never faced these charges before. A Jefferson County first-offense DUI lawyer who understands the relevant Alabama laws could provide the legal assistance needed to achieve a positive resolution to your situation.
By choosing to work with a DUI attorney, you may have someone on your side through every step of the criminal proceedings. Allow a first-offense DUI attorney to provide legal representation and work to resolve your case in a satisfactory manner. Reach out to an attorney and begin working on a defense today.