Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a Day(205) 222-4544
menu

Facing DUI charge is already a stressful situation, but facing a second DUI charge when you have a previous conviction is often overwhelming. The penalties for a second DUI conviction could be even more severe than those for a first offense. Fortunately, a Jefferson County second-offense DUI lawyer could help you fight for a positive resolution to your case.

Allow a dedicated DUI attorney to explain the laws pertaining to second offenses for driving under the influence in Jefferson County. In addition to explaining the potential penalties, a lawyer could fight to mitigate charges by representing you during all legal proceedings and building a strong defense strategy. Though facing a DUI can be scary, you do not have to work through the legal system alone.

DUIs in Jefferson County

Anyone found driving with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher could be charged with a DUI for persons. Drivers who younger than 21 years of age or could be charged with a DUI if they are found to have a BAC of only 0.02 percent. Those convicted of a DUI within the past five years will generally have a subsequent incident charged as a second offense, even if their first DUI was while under the age of 21.

The law generally prohibits operating any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any other substance that impairs physical or mental abilities. A Jefferson County second-offense DUI lawyer could answer specific questions regarding the laws found in Title 32 of the Code of Alabama on driving while under the influence of alcohol or other substances.

Second-Offense DUI Penalties

The penalties for a second DUI conviction in Jefferson County are more severe than those for a first offense. They may include a lengthier prison sentence and higher fines. Those facing a second offense may also have a longer suspension period for a driver’s license and may have an ignition interlock device that must remain installed on the convicted driver’s vehicle.

Depending on the circumstances of a second DUI accusation, individuals may face penalties such as a monetary fine between $1,100 and $5,100 and imprisonment in jail for at minimum five days, with the possibility of serving up to one year. A second-offense DUI lawyer may be able to highlight other penalties those convicted in Jefferson County could face, including a one-year driver’s license suspension, community service, and the installation of an ignition interlock device on the convicted driver’s vehicle.

Consult a Jefferson County Second-Offense DUI Attorney

DUI charges can be extremely stressful – but fortunately, you do not need to fight a second DUI charge on your own. When you have a prior conviction for a DUI, it is important to you protect yourself as much as you possibly can. An attorney could provide much needed legal representation, help safeguard your due process rights, and fight for an optimal resolution to the situation.

Allow a lawyer who is familiar with Jefferson County’s DUI laws and understands the intricacies of the legal system fight for alongside you. An attorney could work towards a positive resolution to your case. For assistance with your second-offense DUI case, reach out to a Jefferson County second-offense DUI lawyer to discuss your case during an initial consultation.