Jefferson County Traffic Lawyer
A traffic accident can happen any time and for various reasons. These events can be stressful financially and physically. However, when you are the one at fault and are facing charges for a criminal violation that could lead to fines, points on a driver’s license, and even possible jail time, the situation can become even more demanding.
If you find yourself accused of violating any traffic laws, you may want to consider the assistance of a Jefferson County lawyer. With the help of a skilled criminal lawyer, you may be able to defend yourself effectively against the charges against you.
Defining Driver Expectations in Jefferson County
Alabama Code Title 32 governs the use of motor vehicles. Included in the statute are provisions regulating speed on unpaved roads and highways, tinting on front and rear windshields, texting while driving, right-of-way protocols, and more.
Also included in Alabama Code Title 32 are prohibitions against reckless driving, speeding, and driving while under the influence – offenses that, if a person is convicted of them, can lead to some serious consequences.
What Are the Penalties for Common Traffic Offenses?
In Jefferson county, a first-time conviction for a misdemeanor traffic offense can be punished by a fine of up to $100 or imprisonment for up to ten days. If another misdemeanor conviction occurs within a year, the maximum fine goes up to $200 and may include up to 30 days in jail. A third conviction in that time could lead to a $500 fine and up to three months in jail.
Misdemeanor traffic offenses include:
- Leaving a vehicle unattended while it is running
- Driving with too many people in the front seat, thereby obstructing the vehicle operator’s control or view
- Following within 500 feet of an emergency response vehicle that is on its way to a call
- Driving over a fire hose laid down in the street
- Passing a stopped school or church bus that is discharging or receiving passengers
Being faced with any these myriad charges can be confusing, but a Jefferson County traffic lawyer could help clarity and assess the situation.
Risks of Aggravated Traffic Charges
Anyone who operates a vehicle carelessly, with disregard for the safety of other people or property, and effectively endangers people or property, is guilty of reckless driving in Jefferson County. A first conviction of could lead to imprisonment of up to 90 days and a fine of up to $500. A second conviction within a year could result in a fine up to $500, six months in jail, and a suspension of license.
The punishments for driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances are even more severe. If a person is convicted of driving with .08 percent or more alcohol blood level or are under the influence to the point where they cannot drive safely, they could face up to a year in jail, a fine of up to $2,100, and receive a license suspension of 90 days.
When faced with a traffic violation, whether it is a misdemeanor or a more severe charge, mounting a defense against the charges is important. An experienced traffic lawyer can help by assessing your situation and providing you with options. Having an advocate to fight for you and your rights can make a difference. Call a Jefferson County traffic lawyer today.