Lawrence County First-Offense DUI Lawyer
Being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) can be a frightening experience. A person can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or other controlled substances, such as prescription medications. In fact, under Alabama law, driving a vehicle after having used any substance that causes mental or physical impairment can result in being charged with a DUI offense. If you are facing DUI charges for the first time, a Lawrence County first-offense DUI lawyer could help.
Attempting to fight DUI charges on your own can be overwhelming and trying to understand legal processes can be confusing. It is not necessary to face first-offense DUI charges on your own. A skilled DUI attorney could work to help you obtain an optimal legal outcome based on the circumstances of your case.
DUI Laws in Lawrence County
DUI laws in Lawrence County are outlined in the Code of Alabama under chapters 5 and 5A of title 32, which pertains to motor vehicles and traffic. Driving while under the influence of any of the following substances can result in a person being charged with a DUI offense:
- Other controlled substances
- Any combination of alcohol, narcotics, and/or controlled substances
- Any substance that causes mental or physical impairment
Persons over the age of 21 years who drive with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or more can be charged with a DUI. Persons under the age of 21 years can be charged with a DUI for driving with a blood alcohol level of just 0.02 percent or more. An attorney for first-time DUI offenses in Lawrence County could answer legal questions pertaining to DUI laws and the specific charges a person is facing.
Legal Consequences for a DUI First Conviction
The legal penalties for a first conviction of driving under the influence in Lawrence County can include imprisonment, a monetary fine, a 90-day suspension of the individual’s driver’s license, and participation in a DUI or substance abuse program. The period of imprisonment for a first-offense DUI conviction is up to one year in jail. If a monetary fine is also imposed, it can range from $600 to $2,100.
The law does permit a stay of the 90-day driver’s license suspension under one condition. Drivers must agree to the installation of an approved ignition interlock device on their vehicles for a period of six months. The device operates as a breathalyzer and requires drivers to blow into the device before the vehicle can be started.
Drivers agreeing to the installation and use of an ignition interlock device in order to avoid complete suspension of their licenses are required to obtain a restricted license. The license is only valid for driving vehicles that have an ignition interlock device. A Lawrence County first-offense DUI attorney could provide additional details regarding the legal requirements surrounding the use of an ignition interlock device.
Speak with a Lawrence County First-Offense DUI Lawyer
A Lawrence County first-offense DUI lawyer could assist individuals facing DUI charges in several ways. Attorneys answer legal questions, provide legal representation, and prepare a legal defense to the charges. DUI lawyers may also be able to help individuals obtain the best legal outcome possible in their particular situations.
There is no need to face DUI charges on your own. DUI laws can be confusing to interpret and the legal system can be daunting, especially when it is your first time navigating the system.
You do not have to try figuring out how best to defend yourself against DUI charges. A lawyer may be able to prepare a proper defense on your behalf. Speak with a Lawrence County first-offense DUI lawyer today.