Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a DayToll Free: (205) 222-4544
menu

Facing a second offense for driving under the influence after having a prior DUI conviction can be devastating. The penalties for a second DUI conviction are more severe than for a first offense. Trying to fight the charges on your own can be a daunting undertaking. Let a Lawrence County second-offense DUI lawyer fight on your behalf.

When you hire a DUI attorney, you will have someone with knowledge of Lawrence County DUI laws fighting for you. An attorney provides legal representation during all phases of the legal process so you do not have to figure things out on your own. Further, a seasoned DUI attorney could fight to help you achieve the best possible legal resolution.

How a DUI Attorney Could Help

A second-offense DUI attorney in Lawrence County could help individuals fight DUI charges. Individuals who hire lawyers can ask the lawyer specific legal questions, receive legal representation in court, and obtain assistance in defending themselves against DUI charges. Additionally, a criminal defense attorney should be able to explain DUI laws regarding second-offenses, including the possible penalties of a conviction.

Lawrence County DUI Laws

Chapter 5A of title 32 in the Code of Alabama describes DUI offenses as those offenses involving the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance. The law also states that driving under the influence of any substance that impairs a person’s mental or physical abilities can result in a DUI charge, even if the substance does not contain alcohol and is not classified as a controlled substance.

A person can be charged with a DUI for driving with a blood-alcohol level of at least 0.08 percent. However, a blood alcohol level of just 0.02 percent can also result in a DUI charge for individuals under 21 years old.

A DUI charge is considered a second offense when a person has incurred a prior DUI conviction within that past five years. A Lawrence County lawyer for second-offense DUIs could provide further information regarding DUI laws for second offenders.

Legal Penalties for a Second DUI Conviction

There are several possible legal penalties for a second DUI conviction in Lawrence County. Upon conviction for a second time, the legal penalties can include:

  • A fine of between $1,100 and $5,100
  • A minimum jail sentence of five days with a maximum of one year
  • A minimum of 30 days community service
  • Revocation of the driver’s license for one year
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on the driver’s vehicle for two years

The sentence a person receives for a second DUI conviction can include several of the above penalties. For instance, individuals convicted a second time can be ordered to serve time jail and pay a fine, as well as have their licenses revoked. A Lawrence County second-offense DUI lawyer could explain the likely penalties for a second conviction within a five-year period.

Contact a Lawrence County Second-Offense DUI Attorney

Attempting to defend yourself against DUI charges with a prior conviction requires being well versed in both the law and legal proceedings. Without a strong legal background, fighting the charges on your own is likely to become extremely challenging. Fortunately, you do not need to represent yourself.

When you hire a DUI lawyer to represent you, there will be someone on your side fighting to obtain the most satisfactory legal outcome possible. Contact a Lawrence County second-offense DUI lawyer today.