Lawrence County DUI without a License Charges
Facing DUI charges that include driving without a license can be frightening. Such charges include two distinct offenses and it can be challenging trying to fight the charges on your own. An attorney familiar with DUI and traffic laws may be able to help you if you are facing combined charges of driving under the influence and without a license in Lawrence County.
You do not need to try dealing with Lawrence County DUI without a license charges on your own. Navigating the legal system can be complicated and intimidating. Let a knowledgeable DUI defense attorney represent you and help you work toward achieving the best possible resolution.
What a DUI Attorney Could do to Help
A lawyer familiar with DUI and traffic laws may be able to help individuals facing combined charges of a DUI and driving without a license in Lawrence County. The lawyer could answer specific legal questions regarding the charges being faced, explain the legal process for fighting the charges, and outline the possible penalties for a conviction.
Driving Without a License Laws and Penalties
Lawrence County laws prohibiting the operation of a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license are outlined in article one of title 32 in the Code of Alabama. The law requires a person to obtain a valid driver’s license before driving a vehicle on any state roads, streets, or highways.
Driving without a valid license in Lawrence County is a misdemeanor offense. Additionally, driving on a canceled, suspended, or revoked license could still result in charges of driving without a license. The legal penalties for driving without a license include a fine of between $10 and $100, as well as an additional court processing penalty of $50.
DUI Laws and Penalties in Lawrence County
Legal codes pertaining to DUI offenses in Lawrence County are detailed in section 32-5A-101 of title 32 in Alabama’s state code. The law prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of any type of substance that impairs an individual’s mental and physical abilities. Such substances include alcohol, narcotics, other drugs, and any controlled substances.
The legal penalties for DUI convictions vary based on whether it was a first offense or a subsequent one. The penalties are more severe for subsequent DUI convictions. In general, whether for a first or fourth offense, a DUI conviction could result in a sentence that includes any or all of the following sanctions:
- A monetary fine
- A term of imprisonment
- Completion of a substance abuse or DUI program
- Suspension of a driver’s license or delayed ability to obtain one
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on a designated vehicle
A seasoned lawyer familiar with both DUI and traffic laws could respond to questions about the specific charges being faced. Additionally, an attorney may be able to provide legal representation, as well as assist individuals in this situation with fighting for the best outcome possible.
Let a Lawrence County DUI Without a License Attorney Assist
Attempting to defend yourself against Lawrence County DUI without a license charges without the assistance of an attorney can be difficult. You do not need to struggle with fighting the charges on your own. A lawyer could help you navigate the legal system and represent you during legal proceedings.
A lawyer who understands DUI and traffic laws may be able to help you fight DUI without a license charges. Contact a DUI lawyer for assistance with your case today.