Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
24/7 Helpline for After HoursToll Free: (205) 222-4544
Statewide Representation Throughout Alabama (205) 871-8838
Free Professional Consultations 24 hours a DayToll Free: (205) 222-4544
menu

Making mistakes is a part of life, but individuals who fail to learn from those mistakes may end up facing harsh consequences. While the potential repercussions for even a first-time DUI conviction are severe enough on their own, additional penalties for other offenses such as driving without a license could make the situation go from bad to worse.

The more criminal charges that individuals face, particularly when it comes to driving and DUI offenses, the higher the likelihood that they will face significant penalties.

Further restrictions on driving privileges, a permanent criminal record, high fines, and jail time are all potential consequences of conviction on these offenses, particularly when individuals are facing multiple charges at the same time.

For advice about how to deal with Shelby County DUI without a license charges, it may be beneficial to you to get advice from a seasoned criminal defense lawyer. Speak to an experienced DUI attorney and begin building your defense.

Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License

Under Ala. Code § 32-6-19, driving with a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor offense. This offense carries a potential jail sentence of up to 180 days and a fine ranging from $100 to $500. Individuals convicted of this offense also must pay an additional $50 penalty, which the court applies to the Traffic Safety Trust Fund and the Peace Officers Standards and Training Fund.

These penalties apply regardless as to whether individuals have revoked or suspended licenses in the state of Alabama or in another jurisdiction. This offense also may result in an additional six-month revocation of driving privileges, which would run consecutively to any suspension or revocation already in place. A well-practiced lawyer could help a person dispute a DUI without a license charge in Shelby County.

DUI With a Suspended or Revoked License

If law enforcement officers accuse individuals not only of driving with a suspended or revoked license but also of committing DUI, they may face two potential criminal charges. They could be charged with a misdemeanor for driving with a suspended or revoked license, as well as with a separate misdemeanor or felony for DUI, depending on the number of previous DUI convictions. Given the possible consequences of Shelby County DUI without a license charge, it may be essential to seek legal advice from a lawyer before proceeding any further.

If individuals face charges for driving with a suspended license and for a second-offense DUI within five years, they could end up serving up to 180 days in jail for the driving offense and up to one year for the DUI offense. The court also may order them to pay fines for both offenses. These individuals also may be subject to court-ordered substance abuse treatment, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, and other penalties arising from a DUI conviction, as per Ala. Code § 32-5A-191.

Mandatory Impoundment of Vehicles

If the existing suspension or revocation of driving privileges is due to a DUI-related offense, the arresting officer must immediately remove individuals from their vehicles. Regardless as to whether the driver owns the vehicle or not, the officer must impound the vehicle. The only exceptions to mandatory impoundment are:

  • The owner of the vehicle or a family member of the owner is present to take possession of the vehicle and can produce a valid license
  • There is an emergency or medical necessity that jeopardizes life or limb

Following impoundment of the vehicle, the towing service that has taken possession of the vehicle will have a lien on the vehicle for all reasonable and customary fees stemming from the towing and storage of the vehicle. The owner could retrieve their vehicle from the towing service after paying all of these fees.

How to Deal With DUI Without a Licensee Charges in Shelby County

When you are facing multiple DUI and driving-related charges, you may be unclear about the possible avenues for resolving these charges. Your goal is likely to avoid or at least minimize some of the potential consequences of being convicted for any Shelby County DUI without a license charges.

With the assistance of an accomplished DUI defense lawyer, you may be able to evaluate your situation and develop a defense designed to keep as much of your normal life intact as possible. By working with an experienced criminal defense attorney, you may be able to redeem yourself from the pending charges and successfully move on with your life.